Standards for Small and Medium Turbines

AWEA Small Wind Standard
SWCC certifies small wind turbines that meet the requirements of the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) Small Wind Turbine Performance and Safety Standard (AWEA Standard 9.1 – 2009). The goal of the AWEA Standard is to provide meaningful criteria upon which to assess the quality of the small wind turbine and to provide consumers with performance data that will help them make informed purchasing decisions.

AWEA is recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as an Accredited Standards Developer and the AWEA Standard will be submitted for adoption as an American National Standard. This was developed in a regimented ANSI process for “voluntary consensus standards,” which requires participation from representatives of manufacturers, technical experts, public sector agencies, and consumers.

Click here to download the AWEA Standard.
Click here for information about AWEA.

IEC 61400 Series of Standards, RUK Standard, and and JSWTA Standard
SWCC offers certification per IEC 61400-12-1 (Power Performance) and IEC 61400-11 (Acoustic Performance). SWCC also grants time-limited “Conditional Temporary Certification” to small wind turbines that meet the requirements of the IEC 61400 series of Standards or the BWEA Standard.

Working groups of Technical Committee-88 (TC-88) of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the recognized international body for standards development activities, develops the 61400 series international wind turbine standards.

Click here for information on IEC Wind Turbine Standards.
Click here to purchase copies of IEC 61400 Standards.

The RUK Small Wind Turbine Standard currently supports the Microgeneration Certification Scheme (MCS), through linkage to the small wind system product standard, MCS006. The MCS is an independent scheme that certifies microgeneration products and installers in accordance with consistent standards. It is designed to evaluate microgeneration products and installers against robust criteria providing greater protection for consumers.  The BWEA standard is a technical standard for manufacturers of small wind turbines who wish to supply into the British marketplace.

Click here to download the RUK Standard.
Click here for more information on the RUK Standard.
Click here for information about MCS.

The JSWTA (Japanese) Standard was released in 2011. Certification to this Standard is required for the Japanese Feed in Tariff. As with the AWEA and BWEA Standards, the JSWTA Standard incorporates the IEC 61400 Standards with exceptions.

Contact SWCC for information on obtaining the English translation of the JSWTA Standard.