Incentive Programs that Require Certification

The following programs require certification for wind turbines to qualify for incentives:

IL Illinois Solar and Wind Rebate Program
Wind turbines certified to the AWEA Standard receive $1.75/watt or $2.60/watt for nonprofit and public applications; those not certified are eligible for a lower rebate of $1.00/watt.

MA Massachusetts Clean Energy Center (MassCEC)

Discussion of SWCC requirement:

NV NV Energy WindGenerations Incentive Program 

NY New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)

OR Energy Trust of Oregon 

VT Vermont Small Scale Renewable Energy Incentive Program

The following programs are expected to require certification for wind turbines to qualify for incentives:

CA California Public Utility Commission (CPUC)

IA Iowa Energy Center Alternate Energy Revolving Loan Program (AERLP)

The Interstate Turbine Advisory Council (ITAC) is an alliance of clean energy programs and utility incentive providers working jointly to tackle the challenges, and promote the potential, of the small and medium wind market.

The following programs are monitoring opportunities to require certification for wind turbines:

CA California Energy Commission (CEC) Emerging Renewables Program Rebates

CO Colorado Energy Office Direct Lending Revolving Loan Program

MD Maryland Energy Administration Windswept Grant Program 

ME Efficiency Maine Wind Energy Incentives

MN Minnesota Small Wind Turbine Info

WI Focus on Energy