Standards – Small Wind Turbines

ICC-SWCC certifies small wind turbines (electricity-producing turbines with a swept area up to 200 m2) that meet the requirements of the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) Small Wind Turbine Performance and Safety Standard (AWEA Standard 9.1 – 2009).

AWEA 9.1-2009 Small Wind Turbine Standard
The goal of the AWEA Standard 9.1 is to provide meaningful criteria upon which to assess the quality of small wind turbines and to provide consumers with performance data that will help them make informed purchasing decisions.


Standards – Medium Wind Turbines

ICC-SWCC certifies medium wind turbines (electricity-producing turbines with a swept area between 200 m2 and 1000 m2) per the IEC 61400-12-1 (Power Performance) and IEC 61400-11 (Acoustic Performance) standards.

IEC 61400 Series of Standards
Working groups of Technical Committee-88 (TC-88) of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the recognized international body for standards development activities, develop the 61400 series international wind turbine standards.

Click here for information on the IEC 61400 Standards.